Due to precautions related to COVID-19, we have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss whether a full phone consultation or video conference is appropriate for your situation.

COVID-19: We have expanded our options for remote consultations. Please contact our office to discuss consultation options.
Carter Foreman | Attorneys At Law

Spring Hill Office

5308 Spring Hill Drive

Spring Hill, FL 34606

New Port Richey Office

7419 U.S. Highway 19

New Port Richey, FL 34652

Carter Foreman | Attorneys At Law
Signing agreement

Why you must deal with grief to move on after a divorce

On Behalf of | Aug 31, 2019 | Family Law |

A divorce can be a devastating experience. If you never thought you would end up here, you may find yourself going through a very difficult time once a Florida court finalizes your divorce. You may find yourself quite upset at times and even feeling very lost. These are normal feelings.

Up to Parents explains that a divorce is a loss much like a death and as such requires you to go through the grieving process to move on. If you have never worked through the stages of grief, then this could be a challenge.

Talk to someone

You should talk to someone, whether it is a friend or a professional, to help you deal with your feelings. Just talking may help you through the grief process and allow you to collect your thoughts. It may clear things up in your mind so you can start moving on.

Recognize what you have lost

It will not do you any good to ignore what you lost in the divorce. You cannot pretend your marriage never happened. That is not a healthy way to move on. You should recognize the things you lost, such as financial security, a life partner, family connections and even inside jokes.

Know the five stages

Grief has five stages. You need to work through all five to be truly free. So, having some idea of where you are at in the process and what you need to do next may help you work through your grief more easily. The five stages of grief are as follows:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Once you reach acceptance, you are ready to move on. This does not mean you will never look back on the marriage or divorce, but it does mean your memories will no longer hold you back and that you are ready to begin your new life.